Three Writing Awards from Boating Writers International

bwi logoBoy am I having a great week! On Sunday, I learned that my book Little Boy Blue won the 2012 Merial Human-Animal Bond Award from the Dog Writers Association of America. Today comes word from Boating Writers International that I earned three awards in its annual writing competition for 2012.

My article “Islander: Megayacht Makeover” earned first place in the category for writing about megayachts. It’s the story of a 192-foot motorsailer that was converted into a motoryacht. It appeared in the June 2012 issue of Yachting magazine.

My article “The Inquest” earned second place in the category for news, issues, and analysis. It also ran in Yachting magazine, describing the search for answers after the 197-foot motoryacht Yogi sank off the coast of Greece. That article’s publication date was May 2012. (I had less than two weeks to produce that 2,000-word piece, which included sources in Greece, Turkey, England, Monaco, and the United States. Yachting‘s editor-in-chief, Mary South, was an outstanding partner in producing that article with me.)

Last, I earned an honorable mention in the online category for CharterWave, the website that I created in 2006 and continue to produce with daily updates from the luxury yacht charter industry worldwide. The 2012 contest is the third time in four years that CharterWave has received recognition in the online category.

A complete list of all the 2012 BWI Award results is online here. Congratulations to all the winners!

Leave a Reply

