One of My Dream Boats, Whether I’m a 40-Year-Old Woman or a 12-Year-Old Boy

The September issue of Yachting has just hit newsstands. It includes my feature article at right about the 168-foot Oceanco megayacht Lazy Z, which I had the pleasure of reporting aboard this past spring on the Italian Riviera.

Lazy Z aspires to offer charter guests more water toys than any competing megayacht. Between the inflatable water slide, the wakeboard slide rail, and the giant hamster balls for people to roll around the water’s surface, I decided that Lazy Z is in fact one of my dream boats. And I’m a 40-year-old woman who just likes to think she’s a kid. Imagine how a 12-year-old boy might feel while on charter aboard this beauty.

My favorite quote in the story is from Capt. James Knowles, who told me about how his energetic young team tests every new water toy that comes to market.

“We’ve tried to hurt ourselves, all of the crew, just to be sure the guests will be safe,” he said. “So far we’re all okay.”

The article should be online soon at the Yachting website. It’s on newsstands now at your local bookstore.

Leave a Reply

