Editors: Need Anything from the Society Islands?

I’m just back from an incredible magazine assignment in the Society Islands of French Polynesia. It’s ridiculous that I get paid to do this stuff. I cruised on a motoryacht from Tahiti to Bora Bora, and in between did everything from snorkeling with manta rays to scuba diving on a century-old wreck to visiting a pearl farm to driving an ATV up a volcanic mountain straight out of “Close Encounters of the Third Kind.”

Another activity was helping to paddle a six-man, traditional Polynesian canoe about three miles along the coast of Huahine. That’s me in the photo above, in the canoe to the right, third from the front in the black swim shirt. Special thanks to the motoryacht’s captain for snapping this photo and allowing me to use it.

If you’re an editor in need of a feature from this part of the world, please let me know. My first feature about this trip will run in Yachting this August. There is plenty of material to make lots more great articles with original photos. I can’t wait to share everything that this destination offers with readers all around the world.

Leave a Reply

