In 48 Hours, I’ll Be Racing for My Life (Well, at Least for My Reputation…)

Just two days to go until this year’s final triathlon of the season, the Delaware Diamondman. This is the longest sprint-distance course I attempt every year, and Sunday will mark my third-annual attempt to race my younger sister across the finish line.

If I don’t finally beat her this year, I really have no idea how I’m going to be able to put up with the barbs at Thanksgiving.

I’ve been training diligently all summer. The swim portion of the course is 0.6 miles, but I’m now comfortable doing a full mile in the pool. The bike portion of the course is 16 miles on mostly flat terrain, and I’ve been practicing 16 miles on hills. The run portion of the course is 2 miles, but I’ve been running 3-4 miles two or three times each week. And I’ve been practicing my “bricks,” too, which means combining events and getting my leg muscles used to things like switching fast from a bike to a run.

So please wish me luck for Sunday’s big event. And yes, of course, you may cheer for my little sister, too. Just also please try to distract her if you see me within striking distance. An older sister who’s almost 40 needs all the help she can get!

Leave a Reply

