Summer is Set! Now, Who Will Love Izzy?

Well. That didn’t take long.

Just a week after I visited North Carolina for my forthcoming book “Little Boy Blue: One Puppy’s Great Escape,” I’ve already found a home for the cute black dog Summer who was rescued from the same shelter where Blue was found. Last night was Summer’s first with a family right here in my hometown. They have two teenage kids and a four-year-old Golden Retriever named Abbey. At first, Summer was a bit frightened by Abbey, who outweighs her by a solid 30 to 40 pounds, but the mom called me last night to say the two dogs were playing and wrestling—and that they are going to officially adopt Summer today. Fantastic!

Now, I can focus exclusively on finding a home for Izzy, the other dog who was rescued from the shelter and who I am currently fostering. That’s her in the photographs accompanying this post, standing so pretty for the camera on my deck.

As I mentioned in my previous post, Izzy is about seven months old and is a wonderful, happy, playful puppy. During the past week, I’ve learned that Izzy is quite good on a leash. We did a three-mile run yesterday, and she didn’t pull on the leash once. She even learned to move over to the side of the trail when oncoming bicyclists were approaching.

Izzy has also learned to sit on command this past week, and she is going happily into a crate for the first time in her life. So her new family will not have to worry about crate training her. I’m already getting that done. Izzy also has learned to follow my dog Blue out the doggie door when she needs to go to the bathroom, or she goes to my sliding door to let me know she needs to go out. So I think it’s fair to say that Izzy is also house-trained pretty darn well.

Last, I can say that Izzy is getting along beautifully with every other dog that she meets. She plays with Blue for hours on end, and she really adored my sister’s big Labrador retriever. I think Izzy would do great in a home with another dog, or where there is a fenced yard or somebody who likes to go walking or jogging. She has a normal, healthy amount of puppy energy and is an absolute doll filled with love.

If you are interested in giving Izzy a permanent home, please apply through Lulu’s Rescue.

One comment

Leave a Reply

