Ghost Blogging

I’ve been blogging daily since October 2006, when my site CharterWave went online. I also blog once or twice a month on this resume website, and I write an online column for Boats.com. All of this online work has helped me to understand things that have pretty much zilch to do with being a good writer, but that have everything to do with getting Google’s attention. I now understand metadata, social media, and other search engine optimization tools as well as I understand active verb tenses, strong nut grafs, and other craft of writing tools. (Including parallel structure, for you grammarians who particularly enjoyed that last sentence.)

A couple of months ago, my phone started ringing with offers for ghost blogging jobs. It was as if there had been some kind of convention among company owners in the yacht charter business who regularly read my CharterWave blog. They all decided simultaneously that they wanted me writing their company blogs, too.

I’d never ghost written anything except for book proposals, and I wasn’t exactly sure how ghost blogging would work, but now that I’ve been doing it for a while, I must say that I quite enjoy it.  Basically, I call my clients once or twice a month and ask what topics they’d like me to cover. They give me a broad outline—sometimes as little as one sentence per blog post that they want—and I deliver ready-to-publish blog posts that run on their websites.

I’d give you the links to take a look, but then I’d be less of a ghost and more of an apparition. Suffice it to say that I like the work, and that if you’re looking for a ghost blogger who understands the importance of writing for search engines as well as for readers, then I might be your ideal candidate.

Leave a Reply

