Meet Me in New York City

I’ve been asked to speak at the annual Business of Pet Writing Conference this month. My seminar, “How to Approach Writing as an Entrepreneur,” will begin at 2:10 p.m. on February 12 at the Hotel Pennsylvania near Penn Station.

The organizers describe my session as follows: “Top freelance writers can earn six figures a year, but only if they approach writing as a business. The necessary skills include mastering legal contracts, smart networking, professional self-promotion, managing accounts receivable, maintaining cash flow as well as a cash cushion, and occasionally self-funding ideas that mainstream publishers reject. (Oh, yes, and being a great writer!) Our speaker has done all of this and more since 2003. She will share the tips and techniques that can help you successfully run a writing business, too.”

There is still time to sign up for the conference, which I’m really looking forward to attending as a writer in addition to being a speaker. My literary agent Jessica Faust at Bookends is currently shopping a proposal for my book idea about America’s animal control system, so I think this conference will offer me a chance to practice what I preach in terms of smart networking.

Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

