Meet Me in NYC

This weekend is the annual conference put on by the American Society of Journalists and Authors, of which I am a proud member. There’s still time to register if you’d like to attend. The members-only day is Friday, while the Saturday and Sunday sessions are open to the public. A full schedule of seminars and events is posted here.

I’ll be participating on two of the Saturday panels. My first, at 9 a.m, is called “Self-Defense for the Self-Employed.” I’ll be the moderator, as a member of the ASJA Contracts Committee, and will be joined by legal experts in everything from foreign rights negotiations to using civil courts when publishers fail to pay. Tantalizing self-promotional tidbit: I plan to open with a discussion of the time I received a subpoena from Tiger Woods after I wrote this article about his yacht.

I’ve also been asked to sit as a panelist on the 3:30 p.m. panel called “Freelancing Free-for-All.” The idea is to let newcomers to freelance journalism ask anything they want of writers who have long earned a living out on their own. I of course look forward to helping my new colleagues any way that I can.

The annual ASJA conference is one of my favorite educational experiences each year. I regularly find myself with new business opportunities based on what I learn. I hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

