“Only a 5K”

I went out for a jog last night with the dog. Felt a little tired. Came home and told my husband, “We only made it 5K.”

Amazing, hearing those words coming out of my mouth. Only 5K. On a random, late-autumn Wednesday.

Getting involved in triathlons during the summer has really changed my entire sense of well-being. Sure, I was nearly dead last in the two races I completed, but I’ve gone from being winded after a half-mile of jogging to being able to stretch out, warm up, and run five miles without a whimper.

I’ve already committed to a five-mile race and three sprint triathlons for  summer 2010. I wonder what I’ll be able to say on a random Wednesday next November.

 

Leave a Reply

