Going to Get My Pig

plaid-piper-farmI never thought I’d be a person who gets so excited about slaughtering season, but here I sit.

After reading Michael Pollan’s outstanding book The Omnivore’s Dilemma, I decided that I no longer want my family’s meat purchases to support corporate farms. I want no part of paying for animals full of growth hormones or antibiotics, I want no complicity in the act of poisoning the ecosystem with pesticides, and I don’t want to eat chickens that live their entire lives in cages without ever getting to spread a wing. I’m a bacon, steak, and chicken eater, yes, and I don’t think I could ever go vegetarian, but Pollan’s book convinced me that I can at least be a more responsible meat eater than I’ve been in the past.

That’s why I’m so excited that it’s slaughtering season. Today, I am visiting Plaid Piper Farm here in New Jersey, where farmers Paul and Eileen will have my very own pig ready for me to take home. It was raised without any of the above nonsense and has been humanely slaughtered on their watch, so I will be able to look them in the eye and say “thanks for a job well done” as I collect my year’s worth of ham, sausage, bacon, chops, roasts, and more.

Even better, because I’m buying the whole pig at once, I save a heck of a lot of money versus shopping week-to-week at the local organic store. And I get to support a really nice couple who are keeping a family farm running from an ethical perspective that I wholly support.

Yum. I can taste the goodness as I type…

Leave a Reply

