I, Harry Houdini

This is how I feel, and how I believe a lot of my fellow marine journalists feel, because of the continuing recession. Based on what I’m hearing through our professional group, Boating Writers International, there are a good lot of talented writers and editors for whom the lack of cash and credit has become a straightjacket. All good ideas for the future will be ignored. All attempts to invest a single penny in a new project will be quashed. Try to break out of the status quo, and get yourself laughed out of the room.

It might just be me, but that sure sounds like an opening–a big, fat one–for a smart entrepreneur with some website publishing experience. Hmmmm. Have you seen the online section of my resume?

Leave a Reply

