Saying What I’ve Been Thinking

There’s an interesting discussion thread going on now at the Boating Writers International group at LinkedIn, with one of the marine industry’s big  publishing advertisers encouraging individual journalists to take the lead over existing media brands and build their own websites. Apparently, this advertiser believes individual journalists are better positioned than leading magazines to develop meaningful readership on the Web. And this advertiser has the dollars to support the best ideas.

It’s the first time I’ve heard that sentiment expressed so bluntly in a public forum. While it no doubt raised the hackles of many publishers whose magazines carry my byline, it also validates my decision to have launched CharterWave nearly three years ago.

As the current president of Boating Writers International, I’m working on ways to help my fellow journalists do exactly what I’ve done–and now with a bit more wind in my sails.

Leave a Reply

