Shifting Gears a Little Faster

My training for September’s sprint triathlon continued at 6 a.m. today with an eight-mile bike ride. I shaved nearly four minutes off my time from the same route just three days ago.

This is the first time I’ve thought that I might actually be able to get to the bike-run transition area before they shut it down. Sure, I’ll still probably finish last in my age group, and yes, I expect to cross the finish line a good half-hour after they’ve given out the winners’ awards, but maybe I won’t be a complete embarrassment after all.

And I feel really great for trying.

Leave a Reply

